Located on the scenic New Jersey shore, St. Peter’s-at-the-Light Episcopal Church is nestled on the northern tip of Long Beach Island in the quaint fishing borough of Barnegat Light, under the sweeping beam of the “Old Barney” Lighthouse. Originally constructed at the behest of ship builder Benjamin Archer in 1890 as a chapel for visitors to the Oceanic Hotel, the building was sold to the Episcopal Diocese of New Jersey in 1937 and designated a summer chapel. St. Peter’s was closed in 1946 for several years, but was reopened in 1955 by Bishop Banyard at the urging of Fr. Henry Beck and William Doughty. By the late 1980's services at St. Peter’s were conducted year round, and the church achieved Mission status in 1992. To further contribute to the ministry at St. Peter’s, the construction of a Parish House was completed in 1992. With its large kitchen, meeting hall, modern restrooms, and office, this wonderful facility provides space to host meetings, classes, and community suppers.
In 2017 two new restrooms were added to the church. Both are handicap accessible, one with a baby changing station. A lovely Sacristy was added, too, all in tasteful Victorian style. At the rear of the Nave, an organ alcove was added, which provided the addition of pews to accommodate more persons.
St. Peter’s continues to grow and serve the Lord in outreach to the community and to the world. That same diligence and devotion of the priests and men and women of the past who have “written” the history of St. Peter’s are very much at work today! In 2004, St. Peter’s took a daring leap of faith and called Fr. Donald Turner as its first on-site priest. The following year a new vicarage was built next to the church for the priest and his family.